We can see all 46 Hiragana characters at the chart below:

(Thanks to Nihongo Ichiban https://nihongoichiban.com as helped our studies so much.)

1.    At first, it may seem to you a bit complicated. But it is not. There are 5 vowels (a, i, u, e, o).  From the column A downwards we can read as “a, ka, sa, ta, na – ha, ma, ya, ra, wa – n”. (n can be read as in “nnnn” sound.) Second column (I) : “i, ki, shi/ji, chi/ji, ni – hi, mi, ri”. And so on.


2.   When we look at the chart we can see ka (か), sa(さ) and ta (た)syllables can have “  symbols on their upper-right parts and ha (は) syllable can additionally ”  symbol. 

ka (か)+   = ga (が) sound.

sa(さ)+  = za (ざ) sound.

ta(た)+  = da (だ) sound.

ha (は)   +  = ba (ば) sound. Additionally  ha (は)  = pa (ぱ)sound.

If you move to another example then it becomes:

ki (き)+   = gi (ぎ) sound. 

Irregular soundings:

a. On I column;

    s letter + i letter = Shi (  し  )  (Not si) sound,      Shi (  し ) +  = ji ( じ   ) (Not zi) sound

    t letter + i letter = Chi (  ち  )  (Not ti) sound,      Chi ( ち   ) +  = ji ( ) (Not di) sound

b. On U column;

    t letter + u letter = Tsu ( つ  ) (Not tu) sound,      Tsu ( つ  ) +  = zu ( )  (Not du) sound

   h letter + u letter = Fu ( ふ  )  (Not tu) sound.      

3.   Syllables ki, shi, chi , hi (as above mentioned) and in addition ni, mi and ri have further sounds called diacritics when they combine with ya ( や  ), yu ( ゆ  ) and yo ( よ  ) syllables. 



For example;

a. In YA column downwards; You see Kya sound.

    Kya sound comes from ki syllable plus ya syllable. (ki ( き ) + ya ( きや ) = kya ( きゃ ) )

b. In YU column downwards;

    Chu comes from tsu syllable plus yu syllable. (tsu ( つ ) + yu ( ゆ ) = chu ( ちゅ  ) )

c. In YO column downwards;

    Sho comes from shi syllable plus yo syllable. (shi ( し ) + yo ( よ ) = sho ( しょ ) )

Important: As you see in kya, chu and sho examples, second parts of the syllables which are ya ( や ), yu ( ゆ ) and yo ( よ ), are shown on a bit lower right parts comparing to the figures next to them.

Do not worry. This is a general introduction. We will try each line (5 syllables) a day. That makes 9 days. Plus 1 day for diacritics and review. In total 10 days will do. Every day should start with the review of previous learned figures. If you hesitate about your improvement then focus on shortcomings more. So, in about 12 days you can get all Hiragana at hand.  

Before starting, our appreciation to Meguro Language Center (MLC) (http://www.mlcjapanese.co.jp/ ) should be mentioned for some study materials. 

Here are the links to a Daily Study:

Hiragana Chart (General)

Day 1 (a, i, u, e, o)

Day 2 (ka, ki, ku, ke, ko)

Day 3 (sa, shi, su, se, so)

Day 4 (ta, chi, tsu, te, to)

Day 5 (na, ni, nu, ne, no)

Day 6 (ha, hi, fu, he, ho)

Day 7 (ma, mi, mu, me, mo)

Day 8 (ya, yu, yo, ra, ri, ru, re, ro)

Day 9 (wa, o, n)

Day 10 (Review)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s